Vacation Spots for People with Knee Arthritis

Don't let knee pain deter you from going on vacation!

Osteoarthritis can make your knees ache, but it doesn't need to ruin your vacation plans. You can still plan a wonderful vacation, but you should do a little research before booking your trip. Look for vacation destinations that have made ease of accessibility a priority and will make you feel comfortable. You might also consider the mode of transportation—and how long it's going to take to reach your destination. Start slow and don't overdo it on the first day! Make time to stretch once every hour or two to loosen up your joints. And don't forget to bring your knee brace, if you wear one, and any medication you may need to treat pain or discomfort away from home.

Was this helpful? (10)

Medically Reviewed By: William C. Lloyd, MD, FACS | Last Review Date:

© 2016 Healthgrades Operating Company, Inc. All rights reserved. May not be reproduced or reprinted without permission from Healthgrades Operating Company, Inc. Use of this information is governed by the Healthgrades User Agreement.

View Sources

Medical References

  1. 8 Ways You Can Travel Like an Expert With Arthritis. Cleveland Clinic. http://health.clevelandclinic.org/2014/07/8-ways-to-travel-like-an-expert-with-arthritis/
  2. How to travel with arthritis. Society for Accessible Travel and Hospitality. http://sath.org/how-to-travel-with-arthritis)
  3. Virginia Wineries. http://vawineinmypocket.com/article/virginias_wheelchair-accessible_wineries
  4. Access Victoria. http://www.accessvictoria.com/tours.html
  5. Osteoarthritis. Arthritis Foundation. http://www.arthritis.org/arthritis-facts/disease-center/osteoarthritis.php
  6. Arthritis Self-Management. http://www.arthritisselfmanagement.com/health/resources/taking-a-cruise/?page=all
  7. Arthritis Today. http://www.arthritistoday.org/what-you-can-do/eating-well/healthy-foods/alcohol-in-moderation.php
  8. Arthritis Today. http://www.arthritistoday.org/what-you-can-do/everyday-solutions/coping/esther-sternberg/healing-wat...
  9. Banff Lake Louise. http://www.banfflakelouise.com/Things-To-Do/Summer-Adventures/Hot-Springs
  10. Callaway Gardens. http://www.callawaygardens.com/things-to-do/bicycling-and-nature-trails/nature-trails
  11. Friendship Circle. http://www.friendshipcircle.org/blog/2012/06/06/32-vacation-destinations-for-individuals-with-disabi...
  12. gimponthego.com. http://www.gimponthego.com/links.htm
  13. Honolulu. http://www.honolulu.gov/parks/dprbeachaccess.html
  14. nps.gov. http://www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/valleyhikes.htm
  15. Frequently Asked Questions about Living with Arthritis. UW Medicine. http://www.orthop.washington.edu/?q=patient-care/articles/arthritis/frequently-asked-questions-about...
  16. Stagecoach Ranch. http://www.stagecoachtrailsranch.com/features_for_disabled.htm
  17. Travel Channel. http://www.travelchannel.com/interests/cruises/articles/danube-river-cruises
  18. Vacations To-Go. http://www.vacationstogo.com/special_needs_cruises.cfm
  19. Desert Hot Springs. http://www.visitdeserthotsprings.com/
  20. Disney World. https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/media/wdw_nextgen/CoreCatalog/WaltDisneyWorld/en_us/PDF/magic-king...
  21. Disney World. https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/plain-text/
ADVERTISEMENT

The Knee Pain Diaries

Watch personal stories of how people cope with the pain of knee arthritis.

You Might Also Like

Share via Email

PREVIOUS ARTICLE:

10 Things to Know About Knee Arthritis

NEXT ARTICLE:

Heat Versus Ice: What's Really Best for Your Knee Arthritis?